Vegan lentil and spinach lasagne

Ingredients: fresh garlic, olive oil, pine nuts, basil (I used the stuff from a tube, but I realize now that it had whey in it, so I will not do that again…), red lentils, Massel’s vegetable stock powder, tinned chopped tomatoes, tomato paste, water, spinach (silverbeet), Nuttelex (vegan margarine), wholemeal plain flour, soy milk, salt & pepper, dried lasagne sheets, Cheezly mozzarella-style or Notzarella (vegan cheeses).

IMG_1252

First, I made pesto by grinding pine nuts in a mortar and pestle, and then mixing with smooshed-up basil (and a little bit of oil to help it mix).

IMG_1256

IMG_1257 IMG_1258

Then I sautéed garlic in some oil, then added rinsed lentils, vegetable stock powder and boiling water, and simmered until the lentils were cooked and the water had reduced down.

IMG_1261

IMG_1264

Then I added the tinned tomatoes, tomato paste and pesto:

IMG_1267

IMG_1270

IMG_1271

For the bechamel sauce, I melted some Nuttelex, mixed in some wholemeal flour, stirred over the heat til it bubbled a bit, took off the heat, mixed in soy milk bit by bit, put back on heat and stirred while it thickened.

IMG_1273

IMG_1275

Meanwhile, I steamed the spinach in a bit of vegie stock and Nuttelex til it was wilted.

IMG_1266

IMG_1269

When everything was ready, I assembled it all in layers in a loaf tin, and topped with grated vegan cheese and a dusting of paprika.

IMG_1276

IMG_1278     IMG_1280     IMG_1281     IMG_1282     IMG_1283     IMG_1284     IMG_1285     IMG_1286     IMG_1287     IMG_1290

And voila!  Terribly sorry, it looked so delicious that I forgot to photograph it before I tucked in. Thankfully it wasn’t all gone before I remembered!

IMG_1292
